Ireland through to Semi-final

Ireland have made it to the semi-finals of the World Team Championships in London in the second playing of the event.

Travel Subsidies

For those players that are playing croquet abroad in competitions sanctioned by the Croquet Association of Ireland there may be an opportunity to reclaim some traveling expenses from the Association. Players that wish to take advantage of this subsidy should contact the Treasurer of the CAI upon selection. This subsidy is currently limited to €100 for competitive matches in England however players playing further afield and incurring additional expenses may be eligible for further grants. To apply for one of these grants please contact a member of the Croquet Association of Ireland in good time. All grants are at the discretion of the Croquet Association of Ireland.

World Team Championships

The Irish Croquet team is competing in the Tier 1 of the World Championships in Surbiton, England from 15th to 21st May. Ireland's first match is against Egypt, the current holders of the trophy. We wish them all the best.

Details of the scores can be followed at

Further information can be seen at

CAI team for Home Internationals

The team to represent Ireland in the Home Internationals, to be played at Eastbourne on the weekend of 19/20 June, is
Danny Johnston (C)
Simon Williams
Ian Vincent
Evan Newell
Jane Morrison.

Inter-varsity DIT v TCD

In awful weather, the first inter-varsity golf croquet match for at least twenty years took place at Carrickmines on the 6th of December. The DIT team was the more experienced, including three former international representatives, and they duly won 4-2.

Danny's report on World Championships

Disappointment in Florida/Fear and Loathing in West Palm Beach.

Stephen Mulliner won the title, coming back from 0-2 down to David Maloof (USA) in the final.
Danny Johnston was the CAI representative at the event and has written a report on his progress at the event.

Danny at World Championships

Danny Johnston is representing Ireland at the World Association Croquet Championships at the National Croquet Centre (NCC) in West Palm Beach, Florida.
Follow his progress at
We wish Danny the best of luck.

World Team Championship selection

The selection for the Irish team is:-
Jack Clingan (C)
Patsy FitzGerald
Evan Newell
Charlie von Schmeider
Simon Williams
Sub( non travelling) - Mark Traynor.
Danny Johnston will continue to act as manager pending his own departure to the AC Worlds in Florida.
Nathaniel( for the Selectors).

Representative Fixtures 2016

The following matches have been arranged for the coming season
1. CAI v SCA at Edinburgh on 9 and 10 July (Appleton Trophy)
2. CAI v CA at Carrickmines on 21 and 22 August (McWeeney Trophy)
3. Ireland v England, Scotland and Wales on 18 and 19 June at Compton CC, Eastbourne
4. Ireland v Great Britain on 3 and 4 September at Carrickmines.
If you wish to be considered for selection please contact Andrew Johnston ( or Nathaniel Healy (

Coaching Course May 2016

The CAI, as a member of the World Croquet Federation has received an invitation to nominate candidates for a coaching course from 3rd May 2016. It covers Association or Golf Croquet and also has a module for training coaches in both games followed by a 2 day tournament.
Applications should be through the CAI for grant approval and place allocation.
Anyone interested should email Nathaniel at
See the following documents.
Download: Copy of the invitation email
Download: The details of the course

Syndicate content